Tabla: Jhaptaal

Jhaptaal is a rhythmic cycle of 10 beats. Like Ektaal, it is well-known in Indian classical music and has become somewhat exclusive for khayal, Hindustani intrumental music, and solo tabla.

The theka can be read here. The taal has four internal divisions: 2+3+2+3. The minor pulse at the sixth beat is a khali.

Given below is a kaida along with some paltas in Jhaptaal.

Jhaptaal Kaida for Tabla

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: