Tabla: Roopak

Roopak (Rupak), a rhythmic cycle of 7 beats, is a popular taal in Indian classical, semi-classical, and light music.

The taal has three internal divisions (3+2+2). A pulse can be felt three times per rhythmic cycle — after three beats, five beats, and seven beats. The sam occurs after every seven beats, and it coincides with a khali to give roopak its special touch: a soft beginning.

Tabla Kaida for the rhythmic cycle roopak

A few Laggis for Roopak are given below.

The following is a tihai to be played at a slower tempo:

**Sometimes bols look more complex in writing than they actually are. This is simply [DhaSTirkitTak TaSTirkitTak Dha] played three times.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: